Your gun had been dropped long before.

When we finally dropped our guns,

shared the silence in the room,

I looked down at my bruised empty hands

longing for touch,

shaking as if there was an earthquake

inside of me.

Because no matter how wide you stretch your fingers, your hands will always be too small to catch all the pain you want to heal.”

But still I tried,

over and over, watching the pieces of my heart crumble,

I stretched my fingers as wide as they could handle

hoping to be the hero that saved this temple,

awaiting the victory of our two bodies colliding

and creating a fire stronger than we had ever been,

as if there were never any guns,

pretending that no battles had been fought.

I am nothing like a hero.

Your gun had been dropped long before.

Responder

